Skip to content

Posh fixtures 2020/21: Accrington Stanley first up with Boxing Day and final day away

The League One football fixtures have been announced - and Posh have a trip to Lancashire to start the new season.
Posh ground
The EFL League One fixtures have been announced - but the biggest question is when can fans return? (Photo: John Baker)

The first game of the 2020/21 season is an away match versus Accrington Stanley, with Posh's first home game a week later against Fleetwood Town. These games will be behind closed doors, as the date set out by the government for the possible return of limited numbers of supporters is at the beginning of October.

This means that the first league game that could see fans returned to the stadiums is a local derby - when Peterborough United play Northampton Town at PTS Academy Stadium on October 10. The Cobblers come to the Weston Homes Stadium on April 17.

October 17 could bring the first home game with fans allowed entry; Posh play Oxford United.

Boxing Day has Posh players and travelling fans making their way to Priestfield Stadium to play Gillingham. On Tuesday, December 29, Charlton will be arriving at London Road.

Grant McCann returns to London Road on March 9 - but Posh will already have played his Hull team on October 24 at the KCOM Stadium. Other away fixtures against teams that dropped from the Championship this year include Wigan on October 20 and Charlton on April 24.

The away game versus Lincoln City is scheduled for January 29, and the home game is one of the last of the season, on May 1.

The final game of the season is also an away game - meaning the first match, last match and Boxing Day fixture are all away from the Weston Homes Stadium.

There are 14 midweek games scheduled, most on Tuesday nights but the first week of April sees a Friday afternoon kickoff against Fleetwood Town, with a home game against Sunderland planned for Monday, April 5.

The full list of fixtures is as follows:

September 2020
Saturday September 12 - Accrington Stanley (A)
Saturday September 19 - Fleetwood Town (H)
Saturday September 26 - Sunderland (A)

Saturday October 3 - Swindon Town (H)
Saturday October 10 - Northampton Town (A)
Saturday October 17 - Oxford United (H)
Tuesday October 20 - Wigan Athletic (A)
Saturday October 24 - Hull City (A)
Tuesday October 27 - Burton Albion (H)
Saturday October 31 - Shrewsbury Town (H)

Tuesday November 3 - Bristol Rovers (A)
Saturday November 14 - Crewe Alexandra (A)
Saturday November 21 - Blackpool (H)
Tuesday November 24 - Plymouth Argyle (H)

Tuesday December 1 - AFC Wimbledon (A)
Saturday December 5 - Portsmouth (A)
Saturday December 12 - Rochdale (H)
Tuesday December 15 - Milton Keynes Dons (A)
Saturday December 19 - Ipswich Town (H)
Saturday December 26 - Gillingham (A)
Tuesday December 29 - Charlton Athletic (H)

Saturday January 2 - Doncaster Rovers (H)
Saturday January 9 - Lincoln City (A)
Saturday January 16 - Milton Keynes Dons (H)
Saturday January 23 - Ipswich Town (A)
Tuesday January 26 - Bristol Rovers (H)
Saturday January 30 - Shrewsbury Town (A)

Saturday February 6 - Crewe Alexandra (H)
Saturday February 13 - Blackpool (A)
Saturday February 20 - AFC Wimbledon (H)
Tuesday February 23 - Plymouth Argyle (A)
Saturday February 27 - Wigan Athletic (H)

Tuesday March 2 - Oxford United (A)
Saturday March 6 - Burton Albion (A)
Tuesday March 9 - Hull City (H)
Saturday March 13 - Portsmouth (H)

Saturday March 20 - Rochdale (A)
Saturday March 27 - Accrington Stanley (H)

Friday April 2 - Fleetwood Town (A)
Monday April 5 - Sunderland (H)
Saturday April 10 - Swindon Town (A)
Saturday April 17 - Northampton Town (H)
Tuesday April 20 - Gillingham (H)

Saturday April 24 - Charlton Athletic (A)

Saturday May 1 - Lincoln City (H)
Saturday May 8 - Doncaster Rovers (A)